Pre-Soliya Reflection Assignment


  1. I’ve learned much about identity through various activities, videos, and readings we completed in class. Such as listing seven words that refer to your identity that differ from one another, and everyone has their point of view. Some people might refer to their religion, sex, and nationality as a part of their identity. In contrast, others might refer to their identity by their hobbies and some characteristics in their personality, either the positive ones or the negatives. The video we watched during class was about a man who insisted on asking what is your origin several times as she looked Asian, referring to how people might refer to other nationalities due to their physical features. This video explains to me more about otherings and identity. As well as the TED talk entitled, “Don’t ask where I’m from, ask where I’m local,” showed how nationalities are not only by the passport but also by where they feel local. Also, discussing equity and how some people may need more care than others. The interpretation of the picture activity was beneficial as I listened to others’ perspectives. 
  2. The class topics introduced me more to myself as I gained more knowledge and courage to speak about my point of view without impacting others’ perspectives. That will help me engage with new people smoothly without being shy as before. Soliya will enhance my skills in presenting and self-confidence. 
  3.  Knowing people from different backgrounds will allow me to gain more confidence and knowledge. Moreover, we all might have something in common that connects us all. The bond joining us will teach us various perspectives, and I might communicate with others to convince each other of specific points.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started